Eastern Illinois University Logo
Booth Library | Communication Studies |

Databases

Home

Your Account

    Today: 8am - 5pm

  • Saturday: 9am - 5pm
  • Sunday: Noon - 1am
  • Monday: 8am - 1am
  • Tuesday: 8am - 1am
  • Wednesday: 8am - 1am

Calendar of Hours

Books and Videos

Articles

Journals

Resources by Subject

Contact us

Gale Artemis Literary Sources
Humanities International Complete
SciFinder
Biosis Previews
JSTOR
ERIC/EBSCO
GeoRef
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
Academic Search Complete
SPORTDiscus
Music Index Online
Academic Search Complete
ERIC/EBSCO
PubMed with EIU Electronic Journals
Academic Search Complete
JSTOR
Military & Government Collection
Gale Artemis Literary Sources
Philosopher's Index
Gale Artemis Literary Sources
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
America: History and Life
JSTOR
PubMed with EIU Electronic Journals
Humanities International Complete
ERIC/EBSCO
PubMed with EIU Electronic Journals
PsycInfo
Historical Abstracts
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Communication & Mass Media Complete
PsycInfo
JSTOR

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V W   Z




Steve Brantley
Communication Studies Librarian
Need help? jsbrantley@eiu.edu

Communication Studies Databases

Top Picks

  • PapersFirst
    Citations for papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Papers1st contains a separate record for each paper listed in a Proceedings1st record (October 1993 to the present). Updated monthly.
  • Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
    Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through the early 1800`s | Benjamin Franklin`s Newspaper | Firsthand View of Colonial America
  • Philosopher's Index Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Topics: Aesthetics | Axiology | Epistemology | Ethics | Logic | Metaphilosophy | Metaphysics | Philosophical Anthropology | Philosophy of Education, History, Language, Religion & Science | Political Philosophy | Social Philosophy
  • Physical Education Index Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Citations and Abstracts | Some Figures and Tables Provided | Physical Education Curricula | Sports Medicine | Dance | Sport Law | Kinesiology | Motor Learning | Recreation | Standardized Fitness Tests | Sports Equipment | Business and Marketing | Coaching and Training | Sport Sociology/Psychology | Articles are available through the Get Full Text link
  • PLANTS database Open Access
    Standardized Information | U.S. & Territories | Vascular plants | Mosses | Liverworts | Hornworts | Lichens
  • PLoS (Public Library of Science) Biology Open Access
    Peer reviewed articles on biological topics
  • Plunkett Research Online
    Business and industry data| Market research and trends| Company profiles
  • Primary Search
    For Elementary School Students | Popular Topics | Lexile Scores attached to articles
  • ProceedingsFirst
    Citations for meetings relating to the papers described in Papers1st (October 1993 to the present). Updated monthly.
  • ProCon.org Open Access
    "Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan primarily pro-con format."
  • Professional Development Collection Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Topics: Highly Specialized Collection | Pre-K-12 Education | Postsecondary Education | Continuing Education | Special Education | ELL | Counseling
  • Project Muse Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Topics: Literature and Criticism | History | Visual and Performing Arts | Theater | Cultural Studies | Education | Philosophy | Religion | Political Science | Gender Studies | Social Sciences.
  • PsycArticles Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Contains more than 45,000 articles from 57 journals - 46 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. 1985 to present.
  • PsycInfo Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed articles, dissertations, and technical reports on all areas of psychology (1887 to present). Articles are available through the Get Full Text link.
  • PubAg Open Access Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    A portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research.
  • PubChem Open Access
    PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI`s Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
  • Public Agenda Online Open Access
    Nonprofit Public Opinion Research Organization | Summaries of Current Social Issues | Education | Health Care | Economy | Environment
  • PubMed Health Open Access
    Reviews of clinical effectiveness research | Systematic Reviews
  • PubMed with EIU Electronic Journals Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Includes MEDLINE | Linked to Booth Library's electronic journals | Topics | Biochemistry | Communication Disorders | Health Care | Medicine | Nursing | Nutrition | Pharmacology | Pre-Clinical Sciences | 1800s to Present

Subject Specific

  • Kanopy Streaming Video
    Kanopy is a video streaming solution for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers. Touching on all topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and many more. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by all staff and students.
  • PsycInfo Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed articles, dissertations, and technical reports on all areas of psychology (1887 to present). Articles are available through the Get Full Text link.

Interdisciplinary and Related

  • 19th Century UK Periodicals Series I: New Readerships & Series II: Empire (Gale)
    (Primary Sources) Topics: Women's | Children's | Humour | Leisure/Sport | Travel and Anthropology | Economics | Missionary and Colonial
  • American Periodicals Series Online
    Topics: American Magazines | 1740`s - Early 1900`s
  • Business Source Elite Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Topics: Business | Management | Economics | Finance | Banking | Accounting | Company Profiles & Financials
  • Charleston Times-Courier Open Access
    Archive of the Charleston Times-Courier and the Mattoon Journal Gazette.
  • Chicago Tribune (Historical)
    Fulltext Articles | 1849-1990
  • Filmakers Online Library
    Streaming Video | Race and Gender | Human Rights | Globalization and Global Studies | Multiculturalism | Criminal Justice | Social Justice | Environmental Issues | Bioethics | Political Science | Current Events | Psychology | Arts | Literature
  • Google Scholar with EIU Electronic JournalsResearch Help
    Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Use the Get Full Text @ EIU link to access Booth Library`s electronic journals. View this tutorial http://booth.eiu.edu/gscholarsettings to learn how to set Google Scholar preferences for EIU journals in the generic Google Scholar.
  • Humanities International Complete Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Topics: Authors | Artists | Musicians | Literature & Theater Criticism | Fiction, Short Story, Poetry, Drama Criticism | Photography | Painting | Music | Theater | Graphic Arts | Film | Contemporary Arts | Society & Culture
  • Issues and Controversies On File
    This database combines analysis and explanations of opposing points of view for current and historical events. It includes chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information.
  • JSTOR Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Topics: Broad Range of Disciplines in the Humanities, Social Sciences & Field Sciences
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
    Guide to over 3000 contemporary test instruments | Evaluations of testing products | Comprehensive bibliography of commercially available English-language tests
  • New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990 to Present
    Streaming Video | 200 Award Winning Feature Films | 50 Award Winning Short Films | Leading Independent Distributors | Presented at Major Film Festivals
  • New York Times (Historical)
    Full text articles | 1851-2014
  • ProCon.org Open Access
    "Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan primarily pro-con format."
  • Public Agenda Online Open Access
    Nonprofit Public Opinion Research Organization | Summaries of Current Social Issues | Education | Health Care | Economy | Environment
  • RAND Online Publications Open Access
    Nonprofit Think Tank | Summaries of Research | Arts | Child Policy | Civil Justice | Education | Energy and Environment | Health and Health Care | International Affairs | National Security | Population and Aging | Public Safety | Science and Technology | Substance Abuse | Terrorism and Homeland Security | Transportation and Infrastructure | Workforce and Workplace Issues
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective
    Index to Popular Magazines | 1890 to 1982 | Some Linked to Fulltext Articles
  • Scopus
    Trial

    Peer-reviewed research | Citations and abstracts | Science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities | Search for cited references and author and affiliation profiles | Data from over 22,000 journals and over 150,000 books | Track, analyze, and visualize scholarly research | Trial through Oct. 12
  • Social Sciences Abstracts Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Citations and abstracts of journal articles in all areas of the social sciences (1983 to present).
  • SpringerLink Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Full-text E-books and Book Chapters | Publication Dates from 2005-2018
    Peer Reviewed Journals (Some Fulltext)