Eastern Illinois University Logo
Booth Library | Family and Consumer Sciences |

Databases

Home

My Account

    Today: 8am - 5pm

  • Saturday: 9am - 5pm
  • Sunday : Closed
  • Monday : Closed
  • Tuesday: 8am - 10pm
  • Wednesday: 8am - 10pm

Calendar of Hours

Books and Videos

Articles

Journals

Resources by Subject

Contact us

Gale Artemis Literary Sources
Gale Artemis Literary Sources
GeoRef
Communication & Mass Media Complete
JSTOR
Biosis Previews
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
PubMed with EIU Electronic Journals
Academic Search Complete
JSTOR
Historical Abstracts
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus
America: History and Life
Humanities International Complete
SPORTDiscus
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
ERIC/EBSCO
SciFinder
PsycInfo
Philosopher's Index
PubMed with EIU Electronic Journals
Humanities International Complete
Academic Search Complete
JSTOR
Music Index Online

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V W   Z





Family and Consumer Sciences Databases

Top Picks

  • PapersFirst
    Citations for papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Papers1st contains a separate record for each paper listed in a Proceedings1st record (October 1993 to the present). Updated monthly.
  • Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
    Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through the early 1800`s | Benjamin Franklin`s Newspaper | Firsthand View of Colonial America
  • Philosopher's Index Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Topics: Aesthetics | Axiology | Epistemology | Ethics | Logic | Metaphilosophy | Metaphysics | Philosophical Anthropology | Philosophy of Education, History, Language, Religion & Science | Political Philosophy | Social Philosophy
  • Physical Education Index Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Citations and Abstracts | Some Figures and Tables Provided | Physical Education Curricula | Sports Medicine | Dance | Sport Law | Kinesiology | Motor Learning | Recreation | Standardized Fitness Tests | Sports Equipment | Business and Marketing | Coaching and Training | Sport Sociology/Psychology | Articles are available through the Get Full Text link
  • PLANTS database Open Access
    Standardized Information | U.S. & Territories | Vascular plants | Mosses | Liverworts | Hornworts | Lichens
  • PLoS (Public Library of Science) Biology Open Access
    Peer reviewed articles on biological topics
  • Plunkett Research Online
    Business and industry data| Market research and trends| Company profiles
  • Primary Search
    For Elementary School Students | Popular Topics | Lexile Scores attached to articles
  • ProceedingsFirst
    Citations for meetings relating to the papers described in Papers1st (October 1993 to the present). Updated monthly.
  • ProCon.org Open Access
    "Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan primarily pro-con format."
  • Professional Development Collection Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Topics: Highly Specialized Collection | Pre-K-12 Education | Postsecondary Education | Continuing Education | Special Education | ELL | Counseling
  • Project Muse Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Topics: Literature and Criticism | History | Visual and Performing Arts | Theater | Cultural Studies | Education | Philosophy | Religion | Political Science | Gender Studies | Social Sciences.
  • PsycArticles Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Contains more than 45,000 articles from 57 journals - 46 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. 1985 to present.
  • PsycInfo Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed articles, dissertations, and technical reports on all areas of psychology (1887 to present). Articles are available through the Get Full Text link.
  • PubAg Open Access Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    A portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research.
  • PubChem Open Access
    PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI`s Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
  • Public Agenda Online Open Access
    Nonprofit Public Opinion Research Organization | Summaries of Current Social Issues | Education | Health Care | Economy | Environment
  • PubMed Health Open Access
    Reviews of clinical effectiveness research | Systematic Reviews
  • PubMed with EIU Electronic Journals Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Includes MEDLINE | Biochemistry | Health Care | Medicine | Nursing | Nutrition | Pharmacology | Pre-Clinical Sciences | 1800s to Present

Subject Specific

Interdisciplinary and Related

  • AGRICOLA Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Citations and Abstracts | National Agricultural Library collections | Agriculture and Allied Disciplines | Agricultural Economics | Aquaculture and Fisheries | Animal and Veterinary Sciences | Botany | Entomology | Farming and Farming Systems | Forestry | Articles are available through the Get Full Text link | Primarily 1970 to Present
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Topics: Nursing & Allied Health | Evidence Based Practice | CE Modules
  • Congress.gov Open Access
    Replaces Thomas.gov | Track Legislation | Congressional Information
  • Drugs, Supplements and Herbal Information from MedlinePlus Open Access
    Prescriptions | Over-the-Counter Medicines | Herbs and Supplements
  • FedStats Open Access
    U. S. Government Information | Access All Statistical Information | 100 Agencies | Topics A-Z
  • Films on Demand
    Streaming Video | Family and Consumer Science | Nursing
  • Godey's Ladys Book
    American Magazine Published for Women 1830-1885 | Color Plates | Fashion | Literature | Health and Hygiene | Recipes | Handicrafts
  • Google Scholar with EIU Electronic Journals
    Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Use the Get Full Text @ EIU link to access Booth Library`s electronic journals.
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition
    General Health Topics | Consumer Information | Nutrition | Childcare | Sports Medicine | Wellness | Exercise
  • Household Products Database Open Access
    Lists health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by the manufacturers for over 4,000 consumer brands. Research products by name, category or chemical ingredient.
  • Illinois General Assembly Open Access
    Current Information | Bill Status | Full Text of Current and Pending Legislation | Voting Records | Public Acts | Illinois Compiled Statutes | Illinois Constitution | Members & Committees | Transcripts for Senate & House | Legislative Reports and More
  • Illinois.gov Open Access
    Official State of Illinois Web Portal | Find State Agency Information by Topic and Agency | Programs | Services | Contact Information
  • Lexis-Nexis, Academic
    Newspapers | Business, Political, Social, Entertainment Topics | Legal Research | Case Law | Law Reviews | Corporate Information
  • National Center for Health Statistics Open Access
    U. S. Government Information | Statistics | Births | Deaths | Health | Disease | Exercise & Lifestyle
  • SpringerLink Includes Peer Reviewed Content
    Full-text E-books and Chapters | Publication Dates from 2005-2017
    Peer Reviewed Journals (Some Fulltext)
  • USA.gov Open Access
    U.S. Government`s Official Web Portal | Find Government Information by Topic and Agency | Programs | Services | Contact Information