Booth Library | Ethnic/Gender Studies |
Ethnic/Gender Studies Librarian
Need help? email@example.com
Ethnic/Gender Studies Databases
A union catalog of more than 19 million digital resources from over 1,000 organizations developed by the University of Michigan and harvested using OAI-PMH (the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting).
- Occupational Outlook Handbook Open Access
Profiles of hundreds of occupations that describe What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more.
- Old Bailey Online Open Access
The Old Bailey Proceedings Online makes available a fully searchable, digitised collection of all surviving editions of the Old Bailey Proceedings from 1674 to 1913, and of the Ordinary of Newgate's Accounts, 1690 to 1772. It allows access to over 210,000 trials and biographical details of approximately 3,000 men and women executed at Tyburn, free of charge for non-commercial use.
- Ornithological Worldwide Literature (OWL) Open Access
OWL is a compilation of citations and abstracts from the worldwide journals, conference proceedings, reports, and doctoral dissertations that pertain to the science of ornithology.(Generally 1953-present)
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Full-Text Articles | Biographies | British History | Irish History | Earliest Times to Year 2000
- Oxford English Dictionary
English Words | Meaning | History | Pronunciation | Quotations
- Academic Search Complete Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Topics: Broad Subject Coverage | Area Studies | Ethnic & Multicultural Studies | General Sciences | Social Sciences | Law | Politics & Government | Women`s Studies | Popular Culture
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Topics: Fulltext Articles | African-American Newspapers | 1800`s
- American Black Journal (Television Program) Open Access
Streaming Video | Television Programs Presenting African American Perspectives | 1968-2002
- Black Thought and Culture
Non-Fiction Writings by Notable African Americans | Includes Previously Unpublished and Fugitive Materials | Date Range from 1700-2006
- Ethnographic Video Online: Volume I
Streaming Video | Ethnographies, Field Notes, Seminal Texts, Memoirs,Contemporary Studies | Human Behavior and Culture around the World | Politics | Economics | History | Psychology | Environmental Studies | Religion | Area Studies | Linguistics | Geography
- Godey's Ladys Book
American Magazine Published for Women 1830-1885 | Color Plates | Fashion | Literature | Health and Hygiene | Recipes | Handicrafts
- In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience Open Access
The Web site is organized around thirteen defining migrations in America | Illustrations | Maps | Lesson Plans | Related Web Sites
- LGBT Studies in Video
Streaming Video | LGBT political, cultural and social movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
- Women and Social Movements, Scholar's Edition
History (1600-2000) of U. S. women in social movements | Primary Documents | Online Journal | Notable American Women (1971-2004) |Publications of Federal, State, and Local Commissions on the Status of Women between 1961 and 2005.
Interdisciplinary and Related
- 19th Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive: New Readerships Collection
Topics: British Magazines | 1800s | Victorian Life and Culture
- America: History and Life Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Topics: United States History | Pre-Colonial Era to Present | Canadian History
- American History in Video
Streaming Video | United States History | Documentaries | Archival Footage | Newsreels | Public Affairs Footage
- American Periodicals Series Online
Topics: American Magazines | 1740`s - Early 1900`s
- Clase and Periodica
Scholarly Articles | Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English Languages | 24 Latin American and Caribbean Countries
- Filmakers Online Library
Streaming Video | Race and Gender | Human Rights | Globalization and Global Studies | Multiculturalism | Criminal Justice | Social Justice | Environmental Issues | Bioethics | Political Science | Current Events | Psychology | Arts | Literature
- Google Scholar with EIU Electronic Journals
Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Use the Get Full Text @ EIU link to access Booth Library`s electronic journals.
- Historical Abstracts Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Topics: World History | Excluding the United States and Canada
- JSTOR Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Topics: Broad Range of Disciplines in the Humanities, Social Sciences & Field Sciences
- Lexis-Nexis, Academic
Newspapers | Business, Political, Social, Entertainment Topics | Legal Research | Case Law | Law Reviews | Corporate Information
- Making of America (Cornell University) Open Access
Fulltext Articles | Primary Sources | American Social History | Roughly 1800-1925
- Making of America (University of Michigan) Open Access
Fulltext Books | Primary Sources | Education | Religion | History | Sociology | Technology | Science | Roughly 1800-1925
- New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990 to Present
Streaming Video | 200 Award Winning Feature Films | 50 Award Winning Short Films | Leading Independent Distributors | Presented at Major Film Festivals
- Newspaper Source/EBSCO
Fulltext Articles | U. S and International Newspapers
Citations for papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Papers1st contains a separate record for each paper listed in a Proceedings1st record (October 1993 to the present). Updated monthly.
- Project Muse Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Topics: Literature and Criticism | History | Visual and Performing Arts | Theater | Cultural Studies | Education | Philosophy | Religion | Political Science | Gender Studies | Social Sciences.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective
Index to Popular Magazines | 1890 to 1982 | Some Linked to Fulltext Articles
- Social Sciences Abstracts Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Citations and abstracts of journal articles in all areas of the social sciences (1983 to present).
- SpringerLink Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Full-text E-books and Chapters | Publication Dates from 2005-2017
Peer Reviewed Journals (Some Fulltext)
- Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database Open Access
Records of 35,000 Slaving Voyages | 1514 to 1866
- Women's Studies Collection Open Access
The collection is housed at The Women's Resource Center (WRC) which is located in the basement of Stevenson Hall.
- World History in Video
Streaming Video | Explore Human History | Global in Scope | War | Natural Disasters | Space Exploration | Globalization