Booth Library | Social Sciences |
Social Sciences Librarian
Need help? firstname.lastname@example.org
Social Sciences Databases
- National Archives of the United Kingdom Open Access
1,000 years of British history | Browse popular online collections | Does not include the collections digitised in partnership with commercial publishers.
- National Center for Education Statistics Open Access
U. S. Government Information | Statistics | Condition of Education | Digest of Education Statistics | High School Dropout & Completion Rates | Indicators of School Crime | Projections of Education Statistics
- National Center for Health Statistics Open Access
U. S. Government Information | Statistics | Births | Deaths | Health | Disease | Exercise & Lifestyle
- National Institute for Standards and Technology Open Access
- National Organization of Rare Disorders (NORD) Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Database of Research Reports and Article Citations for over 1,200 Rare Diseases | Information for Patients and Medical Professionals | Advocacy for Rare-Disease Community
- NCLEX Exam Review
Open the "Career Tools" box, choose "Medical/Nursing" and then choose NCLEX RN or NCLEC PN to access online practice tests.
- New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990 to Present
Streaming Video | 200 Award Winning Feature Films | 50 Award Winning Short Films | Leading Independent Distributors | Presented at Major Film Festivals
- New York Times (1980-present)
Lexis-Nexis provides the full text of articles from the New York Times.
- New York Times (Historical)
Fulltext Articles | 1851-2010
- Newspaper Library, University of Illinois Open Access
Search for newspaper holdings at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the "World`s Largest University Newspaper Library."
- Newspaper Source/EBSCO
Fulltext Articles | U. S and International Newspapers
- Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition (NCSE) Open Access
Monthly Repository (1806-1837) and Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833) | Northern Star (1838-1852) | Leader (1850-1860) | English Woman's Journal (1858-1864) | Tomahawk (1867-1870) | Publishers' Circular (1880-1890)
- NoveList K-8 Plus
Subset of Novelist Plus | Readers Advisory Tool | Book Reviews | Learning Center offers Teaching Tools for Classroom Use
- NoveList Plus
Readers Advisory Tool | Book Reviews
- Abstracts in Social Gerontology Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Covers essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly. Indexes 70,000 records 1990-to present.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete Includes Peer Reviewed Content
Indexing for journals in all areas related to communication studies and mass media. CMMC offers full text for 350 titles and contains citation coverage for additional 660 sources.
- Encyclopedia of Global Human Migration
A complete exploration of the prominent themes, events, and theoretical underpinnings of the movements of human populations from prehistory to the present day, including thematic interpretations and theories of migration, significant contemporary scientific discoveries and scholarly interpretations.
- Ethnographic Video Online: Volume I
Streaming Video | Ethnographies, Field Notes, Seminal Texts, Memoirs,Contemporary Studies | Human Behavior and Culture around the World | Politics | Economics | History | Psychology | Environmental Studies | Religion | Area Studies | Linguistics | Geography
- Kanopy Streaming
Kanopy is a video streaming solution for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers. Touching on all topics, featured producers in Kanopy's collection include Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and many more. Films can be watched from anywhere, anytime by all staff and students.
- U. S. Bureau of Justice Statistics Open Access
United States Government Information | Statistics | Criminal Justice | Crime | Capital Punishment | Prisons | Domestic Violence
- Women and Social Movements, Scholar's Edition
History (1600-2000) of U. S. women in social movements | Primary Documents | Online Journal | Notable American Women (1971-2004) |Publications of Federal, State, and Local Commissions on the Status of Women between 1961 and 2005.
Interdisciplinary and Related
- American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library Open Access
United States history
Citations for Journal Articles | General Topics
- Black Thought and Culture
Non-Fiction Writings by Notable African Americans | Includes Previously Unpublished and Fugitive Materials | Date Range from 1700-2006
- Dissertations and Theses (WorldCat)
Over 8 million records representing all dissertations, theses and published material based on theses and dissertations cataloged in WorldCat.
- Google Scholar with EIU Electronic Journals
Search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Use the Get Full Text @ EIU link to access Booth Library`s electronic journals.
- GreenFile Includes Peer Reviewed Content
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Historical Statistics of the United States : Earliest Times to the Present : Millennial Edition
Published in 2006, this resource provides access to statistical data on American social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences - including economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration and trade.
- Homeland Security Digital Library
U.S. Policy and Strategy documents relevant to current issues in homeland security.
- Lexis-Nexis, Academic
Newspapers | Business, Political, Social, Entertainment Topics | Legal Research | Case Law | Law Reviews | Corporate Information
- Old Bailey Online Open Access
The Old Bailey Proceedings Online makes available a fully searchable, digitised collection of all surviving editions of the Old Bailey Proceedings from 1674 to 1913, and of the Ordinary of Newgate's Accounts, 1690 to 1772. It allows access to over 210,000 trials and biographical details of approximately 3,000 men and women executed at Tyburn, free of charge for non-commercial use.
- ProCon.org Open Access
"Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan primarily pro-con format."